The Revelations of Myst

24 04 2008

I was not a fan of this game.  First of all, I too had difficulty finding it anywhere.  I was finally able to download a demo of the game, but when I went to play it, Myst IV told me that my graphics card was unrecognizable by the game.  I even tried a demo from a different website in case it was just that particular file.  So instead, I had to download the Myst V demo from the creator’s website.  That worked, and I was able to test out the demo.  Like Elara, I had discovered that I am not a fan of 3D games where you run around a solve puzzles.  It’s not so much the solving puzzles I don’t like (I love the game Azada which is nothing but puzzles), it’s the having to run around like a chicken with my head cut off trying to press every button and explore every object I come across in order to find the puzzles!  Not to mention I have slight motion sickness, so playing a 3D game like this for too long gives me a headache and makes me nauseous.  I also think that part of my discontent might lie in the fact that I was playing Myst V instead of Myst IV which seemed like it might have been more interesting to me.

I agree that video games certainly have something to teach us.  Like I said, I love Azada, which promotes critical thinking and logical reasoning.  I think if someone were to create a game of a similar nature using a history topic, it would be just as interesting.  Part of what I didn’t like about Myst V was the same thing that everyone was complaining about with The Lost Museum before.  There was a lot of running around clicking on things without any results or instructions.  There was a game that I played a couple of months ago (I wish I could remember the name…) that was the perfect format for what I think a history game should try to emulate.  Basically, it combined logic puzzles with sort of a search and find atmosphere where you had a list of clues to find in a particular location, and then you had to use those clues to solve the various puzzles in order to move on.  You could create a history game in a similar fashion.  For example, you could have a game on the Revolutionary War where someone had to find all the parts to their musket and then put it together before running off to join the militia.  That way, the game is fun and engaging, but still historical.

I think it is going to take a set of history-loving programmers to create something that will be good enough to bring a new name to history games.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

